The Lawnman Cometh

30 06 2010

We bought a house with no yard.  We planned from the very beginning that we would be putting in a lawn soon after we moved in.  I wanted very much to make this my project.  With advice from my brother, who owns his own landscape design firm, I formulated a plan of what needed to be done.  I created a list of supplies needed, found pricing, got some estimates for top soil and seed and hay.  I did all the homework expecting that as soon as I got the will, I could start creating for myself a lawn that was indeed my own creation.

Well, that was not to be.  As part of my diligent homework (my wife in this case) lined up a landscaping company to come take a look to give us an assessment.  The news was not what I wanted to hear.  What my untrained eye did not really account for was that my back yard had a grade (that’s essentially the slope of the ground for those of you who are as ignorant as me) that was too crowned.  About half of the back yard sloped towards the house, which is a no-no for drainage purposes.

Ultimately, it became a project that was moving quickly outside of my scope of do-ability.  And as it turns out, the estimate I created to do it myself turned out to be pretty close to the estimate given to me by the landscaper, plus the amount for the heavy machinery needed for doing the grading.

So anyway, today is the day.  A few weeks ago the landscaper came and sprayed our lawn to kill any living thing in the area.  Here is what the lawn looked like the day he sprayed it:

World class weeds. We considered building some lawn furniture out of some of the stuff growing in our yard.

Our dog was even a little scared to do his business in our yard, as some of the weeds seemed to have a foul look about them.

If you listened closely, you could hear Mowgli and Baloo singing the Bear Necessities in our back yard

That was two weeks ago.  The landscaper came by yesterday and cleared everything out and began the process of grading our lot and seeding our lawn.

I think a few species of birds went extinct when they sprayed and plowed over our yard

And this is the bobcat they left in our yard overnight without the keys

They are supposed to be finishing up with the seeding today, so hopefully soon I will be able to share our beautiful lawn with the world, and especially our neighbors.  For now, my work laid before me is that of a waterer.  I added to my arsenal a few sprinklers and a few hoses, so I guess that will be my contribution to the “putting in the lawn” project.  We have decided that for now we will just put the lawn in, and we will worry later (probably sometime next year or even this fall) about putting in any additional landscaping.  So now we just wait and watch the seedlings work their way into our lawn and into our lives.

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 06 2010
30 06 2010
Scott

Yeah, I remembered that comment. The fact that my estimate was similar to the landscaper’s estimate was not the reason I outsourced my lawn. It was the need for heavy machinery, and watching them do my lawn with all they had to do, I might have regretted venturing out on my own. If it weren’t for the grating, I think I still would have tackled it on my own, but I guess I’ll never know. So you were at least partially prophetic.

Leave a Reply

