Playing with Mud

19 10 2011

I have been documenting my progress with hanging drywall in the basement, and I continue to work towards the finish.  I have completely finished the bedroom (both interior, exterior, and closet).  I have finished the hallway and the exterior of the utility room.  And a while ago, my dad and I finished more than half of the ceiling in the living room area.  I have now begun to move into the bulk of the living room portion, where I will be until the drywall is completed.  I’ve cleaned the area out to remove any obstacles that might get in my way, and looking out into the room, it still seems like I have a long way to go.  But quoting Wisconsin’s motto: FORWARD!

Now everyone knows that mudding goes hand in hand with drywalling.  I have quickly learned that it is very much an art form.  No amount of reading about it or YouTube watching can prepare one for the actual task of mastering the delicate task of spreading slop along a taped seem. In fact, it is so mentally draining, on top of the fact that it is difficult to do correctly, that we are strongly considering hiring out this portion of the project once the drywall is all hung.

I tried my hand at mudding, and getting the corners just right was a very tedious process.  Aside from that, the contorting and the positions you must put your body into surprisingly make it quite physically draining as well—worse than my experiences with painting.  I would give up quickly more because I couldn’t handle the prolonged mental anguish from seeing each pass of the knife come out not quite right.  Maybe I was trying to be too perfect, but that too is not easy to let go of.  Knowing that any blemish left in the mud will show up when painted lent me to relinquish this role in lieu of a more formidable mudder, my wife.

Melissa gave it her best shot, and it turns out she was much better at it than me.  She was much more capable of being precise than I was.  She seemed to be able to handle the mental aspect of being tedious and meticulous and such.  She could get through more seems than I was able to get through in shorter time periods and it seemed as though she was discovering life-long-hidden talent that no one had ever seen.  However, she too succumbed to the physical demand of looking up with your hands over your head for prolonged periods of time and, still having not moved out of the bedroom, couldn’t stand the idea of having to still finish up in there only to move out into the seemingly endless field of drywall seems that existed in the hallway and living room.

All that being said, we are looking into other options.  We gave it one heck of a good try, but there is a price on sanity, and I think it might be about the same price that professional mudders charge for their services.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 10 2011
Jon

I have tried mudding, and it was terrible. Or, I was terrible at it. When I saw what your post was about, I was actually thinking, “Wow, Scott’s going to do that himself? I’d probably hire someone.”

19 10 2011
Scott

Ha, proof that you’re actually reading this! I’ve tried valiantly to do everything myself, but a few things have proven either too difficult or too “this needs to be done right or I could kill myself”. In the basement specifically, I’ve hired out most of the electrical (I’ve done some of it myself), most of the plumbing (I’ve done some of that myself), and now possibly most of the mudding (which I’ve done some of myself). Basically, I want to figure out for myself that I can’t/shouldn’t do it before I just give up and hire someone.

Leave a Reply

