It concludes…

10 04 2012

596 days.  1 year, 7 months, and 18 days.  85 weeks.  14,304 hours, 858, 240 minutes.  more than 300 2x4s Over 90 sheetes of drywall.  Over 3000 screws, nails, and other fasteners.  Nearly 500 pounds of mud.  Paint, trim bruises, blood, sweat, tears.

CARPET.

I did some digging and found that I drew up the first plans for the basement on August 23rd, 2010.  I posted the first blog post about buying the foam board insulation on November 1, 2010.  In that time span, the Packers won the Super Bowl, the Brewers won their division for the first time in my lifetime, and we found out that we are having a baby.  Since that time, I’ve spent countless hours in the basement.  From framing, to drywall, to mudding, to painting, to putting up trim; all the while researching everything as I went, experiencing fits of rage, moments of satisfaction, feelings of frustration, joy, accomplishment, and every emotion in between.  I have learned things I never knew how to do before.  I learned that I am capable of things i never thought possible.  And I learned that of all my shortcomings, laziness is not one of them (this is probably the most surprising thing of all!).  For those that are unfamiliar with me or this blog, it isn’t called the Handiless Homeowner just because it sounds cool.  I really am or was almost completely un-handy.  Read the article titled Handiless Defined for a little background of my story.  Not to toot my own horn (although that’s pretty much the entire purpose for this blog), but building a basement is no small accomplishment for me!

Through all this process, we have finally reached what I can call a conclusion of sorts.  Our basement is now carpeted!  It is a liveable space now (shh, don’t tell the city of Neenah)!  It is no longer a construction zone.  It went from a room that required you to take your shoes off when you went upstairs to having to take your shoes off when you go downstairs.  It went from a cold concrete floor that darkened the entire room to a warm, welcoming room that makes you want to do carpet-angels.

There’s obviously more work to be done.  The bar will be finished soon, and the bathroom hasn’t been touched in a long time.  But over 18 months of toil has finally achieved an end that finally makes everything I’ve been doing seem worth while.

Here’s a view of the progress in the basement, from the bare-bones beginning to the completed product.

View of the Bar area

View of the Bedroom

View of the Ping Pong room

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 04 2012
Jon

Awesome job. Seriously, I am impressed.
I also find it classic that you marked time by the accomplishments of your sports teams over that span. I can relate. (Although not so much with the winning lately, but I digress.)
Kudos on the basement and the blog.

10 04 2012
Scott

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

